This article outlines how to recover deleted scans, save your work for later, and check scan expiration timelines.
How to Save Scans on Chairside
If all scan steps are complete, but you would like to submit the case at a later date:
Continue to the Review step of your scan.
Click HD Scans on the left toolbar in the Review step.
Once post-processing is complete, click Save & Close in the upper-left corner of your screen.
The case will appear in the Unsubmitted Orders section on your Chairside home page.
You can also find the case by searching for the patient's name in Chairside.
Please note: Post-processing scans allow STL and DCM files to remain accessible after the 45-day expiration window.
If you have not completed all scan steps and would like to continue scanning at a later date:
Click Save & Close in the upper-left corner of your screen.
The case will appear in the Unsubmitted Orders section on your Chairside home page.
You can also find the case by searching for the patient's name in Chairside.
Please note: If scans are not post-processed before the 45-day expiration window, STL and DCM files may become unretrievable.
Scan Expiration
Once a patient is scanned using Chairside software, the scans remain available for 45 days. After 45 days, the scans are archived.
After 45 days, scans are highly inaccurate due to possible changes in dentition. Using scans over 45 days have a very high failure rate.
Deleted Scans
If you need to recover a deleted scan, please call or chat with our support team for assistance.